# **Research awards for Physics students**

## Aim

The <u>Instituto Universitario de Ciencia de Materiales Nicolás Cabrera</u> (INC) and the Departments of <u>Física de la</u> <u>Materia Condensada</u>, <u>Física Teórica de la Materia Condensada</u>, <u>Física de Materiales</u> and <u>Física Aplicada</u>, provide 5 awards for research works performed by undergraduate students of Physics.

Students will present their work during the Young Researchers Meeting of the INC, to be held in December 2017.

## Eligible students

- Physics students with excellent marks, preferably third and fourth year undergraduate students.
- Students must have chosen the Department and the subject of their work.
- The performed work should be different than previous work by the student (for example, work made for the Physics undergraduate studies), but it can be a continuation of previous work, and the student may chose the same responsible scientist.

#### Students will present

• A poster during the Young Researchers Meeting of the INC. The language of the meeting is English.

#### Applications

The candidates should send their application to inc@uam.es before 1 May 2017. In their email, they should provide their name and surnames, the Department and subject of their choice and a copy of their marks (expediente académico).

# Awards

5 awards amounting to  $1600 \in$  (including taxes) each and 5 diplomas.

# Important dates

- 1 May 2017. Application deadline.
- 8 May 2017. Selection of 5 awardees (notified by email).
- First week starting 5th of June 2017. Payment of the award.
- December 2017. Presentation of the work during the INC Young Researchers Meeting and delivery of the diplomas.
- Work commencing: 8 May 2017.
- Work ending: 22 December 2017.

# Committee

The selection committee will have 5 members, one per Department and one member of the INC, chosen by the respective Departments and the INC.

#### Selection criteria

The applications will be ranked following the applicants marks (expediente académico).

There will be at least one awardee per participating Department.













